I started this lent journey not really having a general plan, just an idea of how I would like Lent to go and I have been pleasantly surprised. I noticed that I feel more intentional now about what I say and when I say it. I have also-in my opinion- become more quiet and contemplative. Giving up the use of profanity for Lent has really allowed me to not only think about what I say but also what actions I take. Its helped me become a more focused individual in what my actions and words say about me.
I am happy about this discovery because it was something that I struggled with for a long time. I wanted to be linear in my words and actions and I now I feel like that is really happening. I’ve also enjoyed how many alternative phrases I can create to express my frustration or excitement in a situation. I am enjoying how much thinking I am doing to find alternative words and the thought lengths I follow down searching for a better method to express my thoughts.
